London Shines!

Today I did London… it’s 10 pm and my feet are aching I will do my best to recap today’s events.

I caught the tube into London and as soon as I got out of Victoria station I started exploring. I walked around a couple blocks and thought there has to be abetter way of seeing the place. Turns out that there was because I stumbled upon the Big Bus open top bus tour and figured it was probably the best way to explore the city. I initially baulked at the £27 ticket, but thought that this is the cost of such things. Turns out that it was worth every cent… well… “p”.

edit: I fell asleep last night halfway through writing this, I only added the rest when I woke.

I was transferred to Hyde park where i joined the main tour route. There are two types of tours, that have either a live commentary  or a recorded commentary in a choice of 8 languages. We went past the Marble arch… this was the first site we passed and I couldn’t help but get off the bus and take photos. I got off the bus in front of a supercar dealer, in the window sat a Lamborghini and a Pagani. I later found an Aston Martin dealer is just a block away! I got back on the bus and I was treated to the best London has to offer. Even the overcast sky’s turned to blue as i got a front row seat to this city’s extraordinary history.

Soho, Picadilly Circus, Chinatown…. well generally the west end is amazing. When the tour passed through Regent Street, I had to explore the side streets. I was quick to depart the bus and it didn’t take long to find myself following my nose. I slipped down an alley way and was weighing up my lunch options, although it was early, my jet lagged body was saying that it needed food. I was weighing up my options between two pubs across from each other. “Two course meal £9.50” or “Free Pint with any main. It was at that point I realized that the folks standing out side had their attention set on four men in front of a shop. I could not believe my eyes. Two of the men “Got Nicked” hehe The fuzz had done its job! No idea why but two men were handcuffed and were being arrested by under cover police. I was so distracted, I forgot all about food and ended up strolling through Chinatown.

Just on the other side of Chinatown was an Indian restaurant called Woodlands. I thought this was finny. I went in and asked the owner why he named his restaurant woodlands on the ridiculously far fetched possibility that he had some sort of South African connection… It came as no surprise that it had nothing to do with SA. Apparently in the south of India they have extensive “woodlands” and the name of the restaurant came from that.

In the one day I got to see the Marble Arch, The Tower of London, St Paul’s Cathedral, The London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly circus, Westminster Abbey, Downing Street and an absolute plethora of other attractions. I must admit that I was wonderfully impressed with Big Ben, It really is one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. You must see it with your own eyes, no picture does it justice.

I have so many stories already and at this time of the morning I am finding it hard to retrace my steps. For now I think its best that I let some pictures do the talking. Here is a selection from the 450 I took yesterday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Europe, Travel

Leave a Reply

